Home > Software > Fixing Track Duration Length of MP3 – foobar2000

Fixing Track Duration Length of MP3 – foobar2000

I’ve been using foobar2000 (foobar2k) as my default music player (mp3’s, FLAC and other type of audio formats that I have). I’m not going to discuss the details of those audio files. If you want more information about them, just Google FLAC vs MP3 or something.

However, I will tell you that foobar2k is a great piece of free software: it can play lots of audio files, it has a high level of modification. For example: you can change the looks and stuff in any way you want. I personally haven’t played around with it yet, but I’ve seen some great custom skins and some nice tutorials on that subject.

Anyway, I had a bunch of mp3’s that didn’t show the correct duration track length, because I was messing around with it (editing and stuff like that). Anyhow, turns out foobar2000 has an option to fix that for you.

All you have to do is:

  1. Right click the “corrupted” track in question in your foobar2k player
  2. Select Utils
  3. Choose “Fix VBR MP3 header”

That’s all to fix the track duration length!

Also, while I’ve talked about normalizing MP3’s using MP3gain, foobar2k has those features built-in as well. Like I said, a very wide range of functionalities on top of a great audio player, and in terms of memory and CPU usage it should be lighter (i.e. less) than Winamp etc. Very nice!

Categories: Software
  1. Michael
    April 12, 2008 at 10:18 PM

    Thank you very much for this post!
    Saved my day!

  2. Jane
    July 3, 2008 at 4:42 PM

    Thanks so much! Very helpful.

  3. Chris
    October 1, 2008 at 3:06 AM

    thank you! this was annoying the hell out of me

  4. anon
    December 19, 2008 at 6:53 PM

    Thank you for this helpful tip!

  5. Tony
    February 24, 2010 at 11:18 PM

    Thanks a million. You’re a star!!!
    I’ve been struggling for ages to fix these errors.

  6. Swiftkidd
    December 6, 2011 at 9:19 AM

    Fixes one problem, Creates another. Fix VBR MP3 Header is for MP3 files that have a Variable Bitrate.. so unless your file is VBR you’ll end up Foobar2000 reporting incorrect Codec.

  7. May 4, 2012 at 12:43 AM

    helped, thanks a lot

  8. Jay Dee
    May 28, 2012 at 9:01 AM

    Outstanding! I slaved over this for hours before your fix solved my problem! Thank You.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

